Each state requires a registered driver to carry a certain amount of minimum coverage auto insurance liability. South Dakota auto insurance mandates of all the drivers in the household should be covered by liability insurance and have an insurance policy in the car with them at all times.
Failure to provide valid proof of insurance can result in a suspended license, $ 100 fine and 30 days to 1 year in prison. There is a $ 50 fee to have the license reinstated.
South Dakota Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In South Dakota, they are as follows:
- Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
- Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
- Property Damage: $25,000
South Dakota Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry uninsured / underinsured (UM / UM) motorist coverage. This protects the driver in the event that they are involved in an accident, while the other person is not adequately covered by the auto insurance policy.
South Dakota requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
No Fault Insurance
In South Dakota, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. South Dakota is a state Tort means that the driver of the fault must pay the medical expenses of the victim. In addition, the victim may also seek compensation for additional loss of wages, and pain and suffering.
South Dakota Teen Auto Insurance
Like many other states, South Dakota has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official South Dakota driver license.
South Dakota Auto Insurance – Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers as young as 14.
- The first step in the South Dakota GDL is an instruction permit:
- Must be at least 14 years old
- Parent or legal guardian must be present and sign the application or consent form
- Provide Social Security card
- Provide proof of age
- Provide proof of identity
- Pass written and vision tests
See the video—->CAR INSURANCE IN SOUTH DAKOTA: