Proof of insurance
You must be able to prove that you have auto insurance to register your car or renew the registration. Your insurance company will give you an insurance policy that can serve as proof of insurance. You will receive a new card each time you renew your car insurance policy. California car insurance law allows drivers to show proof of insurance during a traffic stop on a smartphone. It is one of 36 states that do this.
Credit score is not a rating factor in California
California car insurance law says that it is unacceptable for your credit score-rating factor to be used by personal auto insurance providers. It also requires that insurance companies calculate rates based on mileage and driving records before considering your geographical location.
Pure comparative negligence
California is one of 13 states that have clear comparative fault rule. States with a pure comparative carelessness legislation let all drivers regain some payment for their losses, even if they are mostly to blame. For instance, the driver 70 percent of the fault in the crash can sue for damages in respect of cover the liability the other driver, but expect to receive only 30 per cent of the amount of the claim.
California car insurance law requires that you file a medical claim within two years after the incident. In order to obtain compensation for the damage caused to your vehicle, you have three years to file a lawsuit. Always be sure to check your policy for other items. For example, you usually have to apply for a stolen vehicle within 30 days after the theft.
How to reinstate suspended registration
If you receive a notice from the DMV saying your registration is suspended or that the suspension is inevitable, you can remedy the situation by performing its obligations on the Internet at vehicle registration suspensions portal California DMV. You can provide any information required, as well as payment of the fees required to maintain your registration in good standing.
Before you begin, you need a license plate number, and the last five characters of your vehicle identification number (VIN) or a letter you received from the DMV with a personal identification number.
You may also need car insurance documents. To provide information about insurance through the online service, your insurance company must take part in a voluntary online verification process. You may also need to have a personal check on hand so that you can submit to the bank routing number and account number for the payment of fees, or you can use a credit card.
Watch this video guid for more information about car insurance laws in California: