Although the main purpose of holidays and highly desirable retirement places is not so sunny in the Sunshine State. Florida ranks first in the nation in staged car accidents. In 2011, three of the five cities with the highest questionable medical claims associated with staged accidents -Tampa, Miami and Orlando – Florida.
I think that this does not affect your insurance rates. Think again. Pervasive Fraud insurance without guilt is one of the main reasons for Florida auto insurance premiums shoot sky-high. In fact, for Florida families that support the two cars is insurance fraud can cost as much as $ 100 a year, according to the Information Security Institute.
To learn more about this rampant crime, see “Staged car accidents on the rise in Tampa, Miami and Orlando: How can you avoid becoming a victim.”
Mandatory Requirements Of Auto Insurance Florida
In accordance with the laws of Florida, only auto insurance you require motorists to purchase this property damage liability (PDL) insurance and personal injury protection (PIP).
If you are driving in the Sunshine State, Florida law requires that you carry at least:
- $ 10,000 PDL
- $ 10,000 PIP
If you finance your car, the lender may require additional coverage, but Florida law prohibits insurance agents and companies require you to buy more coverage.
What PDL covers?
This coverage pays for damage you or your family members can cause a car accident.
With PIP covers?
According to the Florida Department of Highway Traffic Safety, PIP, also known as no-fault insurance does not cover you:
- Whether or not found in wine
- Up to the limits of your policy
- In accordance with the laws of Florida every motorist and car owner must carry $ 10,000 PIP insurance.
Financial Responsibility Requirements
Florida law also requires that any driver who has been accused of specific traffic citations or who was involved in a car accident, and uninsured or unable to pay the cost of the damage bear the additional coverage PIP and PDL insurance beyond the mandatory minimums. These drivers may be required to carry and show insurance coverage amounts to:
- $ 10 000 – bodily injury liability per person
- $ 20 000 – bodily injury liability for an accident
- $ 10,000 in liability for damage to property
Seasonal Residents Or Part-time
Any part-time or seasonal resident lives in Florida, at least 90 days each year is also required to carry PIP and PDL insurance, even if not consecutive 90 days
The High Cost Of DUI In Florida
If you are found guilty or plead no contest to DUI, you will be required to have additional coverage. It can be up to:
- $ 100,000 to cover the liability of one person injured or killed in accidents
- $ 300,000 liability coverage for two or more persons injured or killed in accidents
- $ 50,000 in liability for damage to property
You also have the opportunity to publish 350,000 $ Certificate of post bond or instead, but whichever you choose, you will need to maintain the additional coverage for three years. If you have a clean driving record at the end of this time, you will be allowed to return to the standard level of insurance required.
Watch this animated video for more info about auto insurance in Florida: