As in many other states, Alaska has adopted a system of graduated driver licensing (GDL). This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused by inexperienced drivers, teenagers. The system is designed for the progressive introduction of inexperienced drivers more and more of a driver’s license, as they get behind-the-wheel experience culminating in the official driver’s license in Alaska. So, we start our list of Alaska Teen Auto Insurance.
Alaska graduated drivers license requirements
Permission for the student in Alaska is valid for 2 years. To get one, the applicant must meet the following requirements:
- Be at least 14 years
- Pass the written and vision tests
- Add two forms of ID
- Verify Social Security Numbers
- Parental Consent
- Proof of address
- $ 15 fee
In order to obtain a temporary license in Alaska, the applicant must meet the following requirements:
- Be at least 16 years
- Get at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel practice, certified by a parent or legal guardian
- 10 of these hours must be at night and / or in adverse weather conditions
- It has permission to a student for at least 6 months
- No traffic-related convictions 6 months prior to application
Alaska Teen Driver Restrictions
- You cannot drive between 1 and 5 am, except in emergencies and work.
- They may not have any passengers under the age of 21 years, except for brothers and sisters, if not accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
- If a driver is caught in violation of these conditions, they can be put 2 points on their driving record, $ 200 fine, and possible loss of license.
- More than six points in one year requires completion of a defensive driver course.
Alaska Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.
Alaska does not require it but does mandate all insurance companies offer policyholders a written offer of UM/UIM motorist coverage.
Alaska Teen Auto Insurance – No Fault Insurance
Alaska is not a no-fault state. Citizens are not required to carry Personal Injury Protection or comprehensive or collision coverage.
Check out the video—>Teen Auto Insurance: